Posted by: hick0188 | February 1, 2012

i’m back…

It’s been a little while since I’ve written on here.  I suppose it has been a little of life catching up with me and also there may not be a lot to talk about right now.  I’ve been busy continuing my site analysis as well as doing a little modeling.  I’m trying to set myself up so I can begin to think about the future of this school in design terms.  Tomorrow I will be spending most of my day coming up with a few schematic ideas for the site.  We were asked to have some ideas for class Friday, which I am excited to begin thinking in these terms.  I don’t think that I have completed my site analysis, not that one ever does, but I think it will be good to start thinking about design as I move forward.  Sometimes you get so wrapped up in research and analysis that you forget to just jump in and get your feet wet!

Yesterday I was working from home and a friend (thanks Will) texted me that Tom Fisher, the Dean of our college (The College of Design) was on Midday on MPR. http://minnesota.publicradio.org/display/web/2012/01/31/midday1/  The broadcast was talking about dealing with abandoned spaces.  This is a very applicable subject and was a very interesting discussion.  There are myriad reasons to keep existing structures and rethink their purpose rather than destroying them.

“We’re going to start seeing a lot of mixes of uses…that will in fact enliven a lot of these communities.”                        -Thomas Fisher

One comment made on the show was with concern to LEED certification, questioning what is more sustainable, designing a new LEED platinum building or rehabilitate an existing building?  It was suggested that rehabilitating a new building would always be more sustainable.  I would like to look into some of this research, as I think it is completely relevant and necessary to my project.

Leave a Reply

Categories

